Holy Mole!


Over the last year or so, I’ve become more interested in chiles and their role in flavoring south-of-the-border dishes. On the one hand, I like the heat, but, on the other hand, there are interesting flavors out there, such as the citrus taste in habanero chiles. I found two internet stores that sell dried chiles imported from Mexico here in Germany, and ordered a mess of them. While ordering, I noticed the store had a prepackaged mole poblano powder for sale. I’ve had mole sauce only once more than 20 years ago and wanted to try it again. I figured it would be a lot easier to try the prefab stuff, as I had read that constructing the sauce yourself is an ambitious program. Anyway yesterday was the day. 4 chicken legs went into a pot of water deep enough to cover the meat. I brought the pot to a boil, then reduced it to simmering and let it go for 30 minutes. Then I put the chicken in a frying pan with some oil and browned and seasoned it with salt and pepper. For the sauce I put 2 tablespoons of oil in a pot, added the mole powder and stirred, according to instructions, until the powder turned sticky. Then I added 1/2 liter of the reduced chicken broth. It made a thick sauce. This sauce was draped over the chicken and was placed in the oven for 20 minutes. I served it with Spanish rice.

It was good, with different flavors competing for attention (Cinnamon, Cocoa, a little heat, a little sweet, but not much). All in all, a good meal for someone who wants assertive flavors. And filling, too!

Kommentar verfassen

